Back Attack!

Hello! What a terribly cliche title for a back workout.  But I guess this workout is just that intense that I’ve deemed it an “attack.”  -_-

row 1

I’m not training for anything in particular right now so I’ve been able to experiment with sets and reps for fun.  I’m always switching up my training style in fear of remaining stagnant and not seeing results. I love results.  (But, I guess everyone does, duh)

Something I’ve noticed that works especially well for me is super-setting (I super-set pretty much everything except squats and bench press) and drop sets.  This workout contains both of them. Yay.

Also, this workout is a bit unconventional;. Like I said, I’ve been experimenting so I’m trying to see how I feel after combining different techniques.  Don’t knock it til you try it! 😉

SUPERSET #1- 5 sets

Pullups (Unassisted)– Until Failure

Wide Grip Pullups (Assisted machine)– Low resistance- Until Failure

Straight Leg Deadlifts– x15 (choose a difficult weight that you feel by the last 5.  Keep the weight the same throughout or increase slightly)

Go immediately from one exercise to the next, :60-:90 rest between sets

SUPERSET #2- 5 setsIncrease weight every set*

Seated Rows– Reps: 1. Warmup x15 2. 12 3. 10 4. 8, DROP WEIGHT until failure, DROP WEIGHT until failure 5. 6, DROP WEIGHT until failure, DROP WEIGHT until failure

Lat Pulldown– Reps: 1. Warmup x15 2. 12 3. 10 4. 8, DROP WEIGHT until failure, DROP WEIGHT until failure 5. 6, DROP WEIGHT until failure, DROP WEIGHT until failure

Go immediately from one exercise to the next, :60 rest between sets

SUPERSET #3- 5 sets

Bent over Rows or Single Arm Rows- Reps: 1. Warmup x15 2. 12 3. 10 4. 8, DROP WEIGHT until failure, DROP WEIGHT until failure 5. 6, DROP WEIGHT until failure, DROP WEIGHT until failure

Standing Lat Pulldown (cable machine)- Reps: 1. Warmup x15 2. 12 3. 10 4. 8, DROP WEIGHT until failure, DROP WEIGHT until failure 5. 6, DROP WEIGHT until failure, DROP WEIGHT until failure

Go immediately from one exercise to the next, :60 rest between sets

Supplementary Stuff:

-3×15 Glute ham back extension

-3×20 Supermans

-Stretch

It’s always good to step out of your comfort zone!! Even if you don’t want to use these exercises, try this style of working out one day (it can’t hurt, right?) Or it can– you’ll probably be sore. Really sore.  But we’re building muscles and character 😉

row 3

Let me know what you think!

Michelle

7 thoughts on “Back Attack!

Leave a Reply

