Jumping on the IIFYM Bandwagon?!

Hello! Hope everyone had a great weekend! I spent my time in NYC walking around Times Square, eating food cart gyros, and experiencing the most on-point brunch I’ve ever brunched before (see below).

brunch

But now it’s time to get serious. Dun dun dunnnn. Summer is creeping up real fast and I’m excited to get consistent with my food intake and workout schedule.

I am officially ready to sign my life away to the world of IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros). For those of you who’ve never heard of it, IIFYM is described as a “lifestyle” rather than a diet, ya-de-ya-da.  In a nutshell, you eat a certain amount of carbs, fats, and proteins (your macro nutrients) and adjust them your diet to fit these specific amounts. Sounds simple, right?  I used the IIFYM calculator on the website to calculate my own personalized macronutrient ratio and I’ll go from there.

I decided to increase my protein to 1g/lb of body weight.  Fat is at .35g/lb of bodyweight.  Carbohydrates will account for the rest of my intake.  I chose to “maintain” my bodyweight and then after 2 WEEKS, I will adjust and go from there! I will update my progress as the weeks pass :).

The great part about IIFYM, or flexible dieting, is that I could eat my delicious looking brunch (as pictured above) as long as I account for the carbs/fats/proteins I consumed. How exciting is that!?!? The important part is tracking your intake and not going overboard.  I’m also weird and I think of it as a game to see how perfect I can get the numbers to match my goals.

Do you do IIFYM?? If so, PLEASE lend me some tips or insight! I’d love to learn!

Have a great day!

Michelle

10 thoughts on “Jumping on the IIFYM Bandwagon?!

  1. chalkandchaturangas says:

    I just started IIFYM about a week and a half ago with a nutrition coach and I’m loving it so far! My body is responding really well to having consistent macros and I like the freedom to enjoy occasional treats without feeling like my whole day is shot. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment